From inspirited to inspiring.

Posted on May 28, 2012

0


Inspiration to me, boils down to learning.  We learn from those who inspire us, and we teach those who are inspired by us.  We emulate those who inspire us, even if just in a tiny way, in their attitude or their habits, or their way of thinking.  We like what we see, we do it too.  Those who we inspire take something from us, too, and it’s crazy sometimes.  

At some point, I went from the inspired one, to the inspiring one.  It’s not that I can’t be both at the same time – I am – it’s just that to be an inspiration is a change.  When it comes to my weight, I never thought I’d be something to look up to.  I never thought I’d be successful at this.  I’ve directly inspired three people to make a change in their body, and I’ve been told I’m inspiring by plenty more.  I know this sounds cocky, but for me it’s just kinda interesting.  I’m still 20kg overweight, I’m no Michelle Bridges.  I don’t have any fresh wisdom to impart, but I see something in myself that I see in those who inspire me.  A desire to change.  A desire to take something shitty and make it good.  

It takes a brave person to put their hand up, admit they’re obese, and take it by the balls.  It takes courage to realise what is wrong and to make such an unfamiliar change.  I’m pretty proud of that.  

Posted in: Uncategorized